24h Nürburgring

The ADAC-Zurich-24-h-Race Nürburgring is a 24h race for more than 200 touring cars which takes place on the more than 20km Nürburgring Nordschleife since 1970.

The race gets its uniqueness primarily from the venue. The combination of the Grand Prix circuit without the Mercedes Arena and the Nürburgring Nordschleife are very well known for being extremly challenging for drivers and material (also called “Grüne Hölle“ – “green hell”). The track with its length of 25,378km has the possibility to accomodate the enormous starting field with more than 200 cars with around 700 drivers behind the wheels in 24 hours.

During the event (normally from Monday till Sunday) the meadows or open spaces around the circuit are used for camping. Most of the spectators are camping directly at the circuit without any comfort of conventional camping grounds like having electricity and running water. The situation is dealt with a lot of inventiveness and plenty of improvisation. Especially in the night the camping grounds look like a fair ground which makes the special atmosphere of the 24h race.

Each crew of a car must be made up of minimum two and maximum four drivers. A driver is allowed to drive maximum two different cars during the event. The maximum driving time for each driver without a change of drivers is 2h 30min. The minimum rest time of 2hours is applicable for all the drivers and not only for those drivers entered on two cars.

The race starts with a rolling start after a formation lap. To be eligible for the final classification overall and class classification a team must have covered the minimum of 50% of the number of laps covered by the overall winner.

Over the years the spectator figures raised from around 50.000 up to over 200.000. Currently the 24h race at the Nürburgring is counted among the most important motorsport events in the world by the tv station DSF.

The technical regulation devides the cars into three divisions with 27 classes. 230 cars are allowed to race in the practice. The maximum of 210 cars can enter the race after Qualifying. The race start is devided into three starting groups 70 cars each.

Back to top